Skip to content

Learning about 6

June 15, 2013

Today’s topic: the number 6

Today George and I discussed the number 6.  I totally stole a verse from a song that I heard on RightStart Math.  “Yellow is the sun; six is five and one.” Then we talked about the different ways that 6 can be broken down.  3 and 3; 2 and 4; 2 and 2 and 2.

I’m seriously thinking about getting RightStart Mathematics from Homeschool Buyer’s Co-op — I love using manipulatives.  The company claims that their method of teaching young children mathematics will help them have a life long love of math and “[i]t also explains that visualization is key to helping children understand mathematics.” Sweet!  We have and sometimes use Math Mammoth — it is a very affordable program and it is good but the other ones have MANIPULATIVES!!!! 🙂  I’m going to give myself a while to think about it before spending $110.00 for Level A.  I also hesitate because I tend to lean toward delayed formal academics (better late than early) and unschooling.  See what the Bluedorns say about the formal teaching of math (and they provide research on it). George is 6 and he is learning math naturally (meaning in everyday life) and by playing Minecraft!  Side note: I’m not a gamer but I do allow my boys to play a lot of Minecraft because I do actually see the educational benefits of playing it.  Here are a few articles, if you are interested: http://www.minecraftwiki.net/wiki/Minecraft_in_education and Minecraft in Education: Pros and Cons (with an entertaining video).

Lastly, here is a video of George talking about his cubes:

Thanks for reading!  If you enjoyed this post, please consider subscribing via email!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

